1 Year of Backlogging

Backloggd
3 min readAug 12, 2019

On August 10th the first files were created for Backloggd and exactly one year later 1.0 status was reached.

August 10th marks 1.0’s release

I want to start by thanking everyone who has used the site and especially those continue to use it to this day. I’ve always wanted to make the most feature complete version of a game collection website and without the ongoing support from having actual users I don’t think I would’ve made it this far, especially being the only person working on the project.

I also want to throw out an extra thank you to all the Patreon Supporters who have been helping out financially! I couldn’t appreciate it anymore and I’m always trying to find more ways to reward you for it.

Ping | Humad Shah | RoyalApe | Will Goodrow | Ben Stumpf |Bernardo Baquero Stand

What did 1.0 bring?

While technically the entire site came during the 1.0 update, a few things were launched specifically on the 1.0 launch date. One of them being a new changelog page! If you ever want a quick overview of what’s new, this will be the place to go.

All the changes at a glance

I never understood why websites lacked a changelog when they are software just like any other program, so I’m making sure that’s not the case here.

Another highlightable feature that can be seen in the screenshot above is the navbar change, as it’s now replaced with a gradient background. I wanted to change this ever since the whole darker theme remake but I didn’t know what I wanted until now. I’ve said it before but I want to continue tweaking these design elements until I feel like the site has a good balance of functionality and modern design.

The about section was busy because the roadmap also went under a few changes as well. With beta being gone, I wanted to refocus everything to post-launch content while allowing users to have a say in as well. So now any registered user can now vote on up to 3 tasks they want to see the most!

Lists are certainly gaining popularity

This will help prioritize development so that you can get the features you want the most sooner! If you have an idea that’s not on this list, feel free to let me know!

What will 1.1 be about?

Speaking of listening to you guys, I’m happy to announce that 1.1’s main focus will be on Lists and the Game Plays Page! I know how essential lists are when keeping a collection and they are long overdue so I’m pretty excited to get it going now that the site is launched. There’ll be more details on how they work later on.

The Game Plays Page is coming along well though!

Now blame your friends for your giving your favorite games 1-star!

While being able to see who gave what rating, you’ll also be able to see who’s currently playing the game and who has it on their wishlist.

BACKER BETA: The Backer tier on Patreon gets you early access to this feature while it’s being developed

These two features will be the highlight of 1.1 as I want to shift focus to more condensed updates that release all at once, hopefully at a monthly rate.

Well that’s it for this update! I’m not sure if I’m going to start moving the usual monthly updates to just the numbered ones, keep them monthly, or do both. We’ll see! Until then keep up to date with Twitter, tell all your friends, and see you on the site!

--

--